GTX 970 / 980

With Nicholas Picholas
User avatar
HS
Registered Broad
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:27 pm
Received rep: 1 time

GTX 970 / 980

Post #1 by HS » Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:44 pm

I just picked up the ASUS Strix GTX 970. Pretty stellar card. I didn't realise how quiet they were until I gave it a test run the other day using maxed graphic settings.

Anyone else looking into them? Any comments on the 980? SLI?
User avatar
PredsFan77
Posts: 35794
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:53 am
Location: 7 TIME LOUNGE JEOPARDY CHAMP!!!
Has given rep: 106 times
Received rep: 227 times

Post #2 by PredsFan77 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:06 pm

I am looking to build a pc at some point. will get the 970
CDX.NA.IG.9









[LEFT]Image[/LEFT]
User avatar
HS
Registered Broad
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:27 pm
Received rep: 1 time

Post #3 by HS » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:52 pm

PredsFan77 wrote:I am looking to build a pc at some point. will get the 970


Good man. I picked up the ASUS for 379. Which is about 20 less than what's listed in Canada. I have good timing.
User avatar
PredsFan77
Posts: 35794
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:53 am
Location: 7 TIME LOUNGE JEOPARDY CHAMP!!!
Has given rep: 106 times
Received rep: 227 times

Post #4 by PredsFan77 » Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:33 pm

yeah seems like no one can keep them in stock.
CDX.NA.IG.9



















[LEFT]Image[/LEFT]
User avatar
HS
Registered Broad
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:27 pm
Received rep: 1 time

Post #5 by HS » Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:59 pm

Man, this thing takes on everything I throw at it.

There's a new feature in Geforce called Display Super Resolution. Puts 4K resolution into your 1080p screen. Pretty neat.
User avatar
NyQuil
Registered Broad
Posts: 9731
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:45 am
Has given rep: 5 times
Received rep: 10 times

Post #6 by NyQuil » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:02 am

I picked up Dragon Age Inquisiton and my stalwart card of many years, a GTX 560 was having stuttering issues during cut scenes.

Bought the MSI 4GB GTX 970 and all the settings are maxed and it's smooth as silk.

Oddly enough, the Nvidia optimizer for DA/I wants all the settings low, but the game selected all the top settings with no issue.
User avatar
IcE ColD
Registered Broad
Posts: 35892
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:37 pm
Location: Out of Purgatory
Has given rep: 29 times
Received rep: 63 times

Post #7 by IcE ColD » Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:01 am

NyQuil wrote:I picked up Dragon Age Inquisiton and my stalwart card of many years, a GTX 560 was having stuttering issues during cut scenes.

Bought the MSI 4GB GTX 970 and all the settings are maxed and it's smooth as silk.

Oddly enough, the Nvidia optimizer for DA/I wants all the settings low, but the game selected all the top settings with no issue.


You mean that GeForce Experience thingy?

It does kinda suck for some game. I have a GTX 660M and it would recommend me medium to low settings for Bioshock Infinity. Cranked everything at top (aside from shadows) and didn't get any lag.
Society is actually a bunch of flawed primates guided by selfishness, fear, and superstitious bullshit.

David Wong - 19/12/2016
User avatar
NyQuil
Registered Broad
Posts: 9731
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:45 am
Has given rep: 5 times
Received rep: 10 times

Post #8 by NyQuil » Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:50 pm

Yup.
User avatar
HS
Registered Broad
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:27 pm
Received rep: 1 time

Post #9 by HS » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:32 am

It probably bases those settings on whatever your CPU is as well. Although to be fair, I have never seen Geforce Experience suggest low settings for any of my games. You made a nice pick up NyQuil! I picked up the same game. We should play together again sometime!
User avatar
NyQuil
Registered Broad
Posts: 9731
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:45 am
Has given rep: 5 times
Received rep: 10 times

Post #10 by NyQuil » Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:18 pm

LOL, so you can show me how it's done in MP like in ME3?

I'm really just there for the comic relief.
User avatar
HS
Registered Broad
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:27 pm
Received rep: 1 time

Post #11 by HS » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:14 pm

NyQuil wrote:LOL, so you can show me how it's done in MP like in ME3?

I'm really just there for the comic relief.


I think I've played like ten minutes of the single player since I brought it a month ago :P

I'm still playing Battlefield 4!

Return to “Video & Arcade Top 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest